New California Laws: Cell phone use while driving

I just want to make sure everyone in California knows the 2 new cell phone laws that just came out and goes into affect today; Tuesday July 1, 2008. The legislation prohibits drivers from using a wireless telephone while operating a motor vehicle unless the driver uses a hands free device. You may only use the phone for emergency purposes only (calling 911, police department, fire department, medical provider, and other emergency services agency.)

 

First law is that if you are a driver and under 18 years of age, you are not allowed to use the cell phone, pager, laptop or any other electronic communication or mobile services device to speak or text at all. So you can’t use the phone period if you are driving.

 

Second law is for drivers 18 years of age and older. You are allowed to use the phone but it is now against the law to have the phone to your ears. You can still dial and use a headset (only for one ear and not both). We still don’t recommend you dialing your phone while driving. Aslong you are using a hands free device you are fine (speaker, bluetooth, headset, etc).

 

How much is the fine if you do get caught?

The first offense is $20 and $50 for subsequent convictions.

 

If you have more questions go here for FAQ regarding these new cell phone laws for California. From everyone here at R1 Concepts ask you to please drive safe.

 

 

, , , ,

5 Responses to New California Laws: Cell phone use while driving

  1. California Civil Litigation Attorney July 10, 2008 at 5:44 am #

    The tendency is really good. All countries in Europe have same laws, hope all states of America will join our state in banning the use of mobile phones with the hands while driving.
    The fine should be much more i think. Then one could even have no ability to compare the price of a hands-free and a fine.

  2. Dan July 10, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    Reply to “The fine should be more I think”

     

    Actually considering the price of the outrageous California tax of 400%, which few people know about, the fine for the first offense is about $80 and second offense is about $200.

     

    While the fine is indeed small, I think the bigger implications will have to do with the police’s authority to basically pull over anyone now. Just think, now they have a reason for pulling you over and finding other charges.

     

  3. Martin July 16, 2008 at 8:10 pm #

    Thank you for the clarifications “Dan.” I’ve found out that after the taxes and fees it will come out to $80 for the first offense.

  4. April23 August 19, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    There are many blogs and i just found yours while doing some searches, what are the odds, thx for the info

  5. Todd September 16, 2008 at 9:24 am #

    Actually, the fine with standard fees and penalties is $102 for the first offense (Stanislaus County)…

    Personally I believe that if the State is going to make a law, they should make a law that states that two hands will be on the steering wheel at all times during operation… there are a lot of other reasons people don’t use their second hand for steering. We could outlaw manual transmissions and eating food while driving and putting on lipstick and changing the radio station or putting in a new cd… Oh, but wait, there are no lobbyists with special interests in selling accessories for this purpose… yet!

Leave a Reply